Lacking Inspiration, Needing Structure

It has now been a month since I have posted anything to my blog. NaNoWriMo is upon us. To be honest with you and with myself I will state that I haven’t really written a single word. I have pondered, come up with a much more solid outline, have a better idea on where I want my story to go and what steps I want to take to move that way. But I can’t seem to write.

It is going to sound like an excuse. But in all honesty I started a new job that has taken up my time and energy. I’m trying to figure out how to balance this. The new job is a work at home customer service position. So I am spending 8+ hours a day in my office working. It is hard to be here to write for NaNoWriMo as well.

So I have decided that I needed to schedule my day. I am finally out of training for the new job and I get to start my schedule. It is one that will allow me the time to write everyday. If I can get over the fact that I cannot wait for inspiration and need to just do the work 🙂 I will wake up at the same time everyday, sit down to write for myself from at least 9am-11am, then get out of my office for a couple hours before coming back to work.

My overall goal is to become a published writer. One that can make a living at writing. I know many say this, but it’s what I want. I think the structure of a schedule will help.

Any writers out there have any advice? Suggestions? Words of encouragement? Please tell me how to get out of the corporate world sooner rather than later…..

Leave a Reply

