The Over Grown Garden

I’m not sure how many of you, if any, live in Colorado. Typically we have a fairly hot, dry summer with some random rain storms. This year, it has rained nearly every day all summer long. It has kept temperatures down, but I have felt like we didn’t really get a summer at all. My water bill is loving it, my lawn looks good because of it, but my vegetables haven’t been too happy.

The extra water seems to have over done some of them and created a lot of bugs. Apparently earwigs love tomatoes. However, they can’t climb up plastic so the tomatoes in the buckets did a little better than the ones in the ground. Peppers don’t like the chilly rain. And I couldn’t keep up on the every overpowering bindweed. Grrr. Some things grew big and tall and happy, but not many vegetables. I am not sure what I could have done.

Overgrown

 

Overall, I feel that this was a somewhat disappointing growing year. Many of my gardening friends did much better than I. I wonder if the still super soil has something to do with my lack of success or if there is something else I need to do? (Remember that we created dirt from vermiculite, peat moss, and 5 types of compost.) Advice?

Next year we will just grow peppers, tomatoes, garlic, cucumbers. Perhaps I need to get really good at a few things then add to it.

Leave a Reply

