Got myself a pimp… or 3.

As you may recall, I am currently unemployed. I lost my job on February 14th this year. In the past 10 weeks I have sent my resume out 54 times. Out of those 54 resumes I have had 2 interviews. Just two. I am not a math wiz or anything, but that isn’t much. I have no amazing skills and my resume reads like something a 24 year old would have. Since graduating college I haven’t had a job for more than 3 years. This last job I wanted to keep for a really long time. But it wasn’t meant to be.

So I’m on the hunt again. But money is getting low and I am starting to feel the pings of desperation. I am looking for an administrative position. I like data entry, filing, copying and the such. Not exciting, takes no skills, but I enjoy it. Unfortunately I fear that all other resumes look like mine. I am really much better in person. Outgoing, laid back, personable. So, I got myself a pimp last week.

I don’t mean a gold chain, velour wearing pimp. I mean I signed up with a staffing agency. I noticed that many jobs on monster, indeed and career builder were going through staffing agencies. I didn’t contact any, just applied for a job one had up. They contacted me and I signed up with them. But all businesses don’t go through the same place, right? Nope. So I signed up with another pimp. Well, if two would be advocating for me, selling me on the business market, it doesn’t hurt to contact three does it? Nah! So I emailed a third staffing agency yesterday.

I am still looking for myself. But I need help. While there is absolutely nothing wrong with working at Taco Bell or Wal-Mart, I don’t want to do that if I don’t have too. I know my luck, I would get trained, then get my dream job and quit. I don’t like being that person.

So wish me luck, and hope that the pimps can do their jobs well!

11 thoughts on “Got myself a pimp… or 3.

  1. Good Luck with the job hunt!

  2. luckymermaidx2 says:

    Tara, those are indeed good skills to have! Plus a degree! I’m sorry it’s taken so long for you. I think, if I remember correctly, from reading this blog, you also are practicing self sufficiency thinking/mindset. That too will help you out in the long run.
    I know you want regular income; that’s great. Keep going with the other stuff too.
    I’m positive one of those ‘pimps’ will find work for you, and very soon you will report it here, to us.

    • Tara says:

      I have a bachelor’s degree, so hopefully that will help. And, yes, I am working on sustainable living. This is one reason for it as well. I don’t want to work to pay bills. I want to work to play and build greenhouses and garden beds. I will report as soon as the status has changed.
      T

  3. Charity says:

    SOOOO frustrating! I have a degree in education, and after two years of teaching realized I couldn’t continue to teach and maintain my sanity simultaneously. The job quest was TERRIBLE. I’m still looking for something long term sustainable, but finally settled for the first full time offer I received after months of temping. >_<
    I wish you much MUCH success and sustained hope amidst that floundering feeling of despair in the face of rejection email after rejection email (because so few places waste actual stamps on turning people down these days -_-).

    • Tara says:

      I am fortunate enough to live with two other working adults and my son just got a job so he will stop asking me for cash. I am hoping temping will at least cover my portion of the monthly bills. I would rather get a rejection email then nothing, which is what I hear from most places. I am glad you finally found something, even if it isn’t your dream job. I originally went to school for teaching and when I got to the classes in a high school I realized I couldn’t be around teenagers. At least I figured that out early on. Keep on looking, the dream job is out there.

  4. NS says:

    Hi there:) I nominated you for the Liebster award….:) for details click:

    http://inkriched.com/2014/04/25/triple-liebster-award-nomination/#wpl-likebox

    NS

  5. frncnseal585 says:

    You also might look at getting your resume perked up. Resumes are beginning to look somewhat different than they used to. Employers want skills, yes, but they also want people who notice problems and either fix them or come up with possible solutions. So, if you have served as a treasurer for your Wednesday-night movie club – mention you are good with numbers (assuming you didn’t bankrupt the club or abscond with the money.) Are you good with organizing the plants you put in the ground, you have a sense of color or size – or just plain organizing. In your home, what do you contribute (besides money?) It might pay to pay for someone to scrub and pretty up your resume. Too often we overlook talents we have because they come so easy to us.
    BYW – thanks for looking at my blog.

    • Tara says:

      Thanks for the advice. I hadn’t thought of that. I did recently get a job through one of the temp agencies, but it isn’t paying as much as I ultimately want to make. I should be starting that job this week, assuming my fingerprints get processed correctly, so we will see how it goes. I may end up continuing my job search.

      You’re welcome for reading your blog. I like that it isn’t about any one thing and you have a good writing style. Have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

