Who I am and Why I’m Here

To help my writing skills, focus my attention and hopefully learn a lot I have started this blog. I have tried this before in the past, trying to focus the topic of my blog to one thing and it didn’t work. This time, I am writing about everything. Plan to use tags well to keep things organized but write about life in general, my hobbies, not the best written book reviews, and whatever else pops in to my head. I do have specific topics I write about on a regular basis, most notably my garden.

The garden is what my blog is mainly about. This is my second year gardening and it has been trial and error all the way. I am gardening in hopes of eating healthier and lessening my strain on the environment. My overall goal is to live a fairly sustainable lifestyle and the blog is sort of my journal in this quest. While I could have just written everything down in a notebook I decided to go this way for a couple of reasons. One, because I will need help, advice, and encouragement. Anyone who has ever had a garden knows its not necessarily that easy to get started and be successful. Two, perhaps the problems I am write about someone else is also having and my blog may help. This may or may not be true. But it helps me. I always felt that the question left unasked is the question left unanswered.

I may write a similar blog post like this from time to time, just to remind myself why I am doing this.

Also, to help with my writing and motivation I am participating in a ‘Zero to Hero’ 30 day exercise being put on by the great people of Word Press, so you will see a post from me every day for the next month, if all goes well. Wish me luck!

24 thoughts on “Who I am and Why I’m Here

  1. Welcome to the Zero to Hero journey! This is also my second year gardening – a hobby I took up for many of the same reasons you have. My wife and I have a community garden plot that we acquired last year and while we did well, we are always looking for ways to make it that much better.

    • Tara says:

      Thanks for the welcome! Yes, gardening is not nearly as easy as I thought it would be by the pictures I see online. It takes work, but is so worth it. I hope it comes out great for both of us this year.

  2. Good luck! I look forward to reading your posts.

  3. Jess says:

    I will follow your blog and your garden. Wish i had one to:-)

  4. suchitra says:

    I had a garden back home in India. Now that I got married and moved to UK, we live in a flat and I have one small potted plant. I really miss gardening and would love to read more about your hobby.

    • Tara says:

      Thank you Suchitra! Along with my outdoor garden I have many indoor plants. They don’t always live, but I try. This year I am making it a mission to get them all through the seasons.

  5. frncnseal585 says:

    I’m set up to follow your blog. I may ask you for hints should my garden manage to materialize.

  6. innatejames says:

    I hope the blog brings you the support and accountability you’re looking for! ~from the guy who’s killed every single plant ever given to him (I think that’s called plantricide)

  7. Charity says:

    Hello, Fellow Zero-to-hero-er.
    I envy people with green thumbs because my thumb tends to be black. I’m kind of like a plant hospice center, doing my best to make them comfortable on their way to see Jesus >_<
    Maybe I can learn some tips from you ^_^

  8. aishasoasis says:

    Oh, I’m still mourning an avacado tree I grew from a seed once! I hope yours survives! So maybe we can exchange gardening tips, I really enjoy my rooftop garden here in egypt – we ate our first two cucumbers today that ripened already, its so exciting to eat from your own garden, isnt it?!
    xoxo ;^)

    • Tara says:

      Last year was our first year gardening and it didn’t go very well. We were following the Square Foot Gardening book. We had created raised garden beds and ‘made’ dirt with vermiculite, peat moss and 5 types of compost. It was too much for our veggies. We didn’t yield much 😦 I am hoping now that it has been a year the dirt will have calmed down some.

      • aishasoasis says:

        Yes, we had the same problem last year with too much chicken manure in the mix, but probably its cooler now… its hard getting the soil mix right, but when it does, its very exciting. Patience! ;^)

  9. E. says:

    Oh, I haven’t seen many gardening blogs around — how unique! Once I move back home I’m hoping to start a little flower-and-herb garden… My stepmom had gardens of berries and vegetables, but she didn’t have the time to take care of them properly so they became wild and overgrown — perfect for playing in, haha!

    Best of luck on your garden and blog! 🙂

    – E

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog and for the follow. I’ll be following you too, because I’m interested in gardening and in writing. And I’m rooting for you to get a satisfying source of income. 🙂

  11. luckymermaidx2 says:

    Hi, I’m interested in hearing what you have to say! Talk about anything! (talk about your garden, too) and I like seeing what others are doing!

Leave a Reply

