Planting #1

So we planted several things this week. Outside we started peas (2 varieties), carrots, lettuce (two varieties) and spinach. We soaked the seeds overnight for most and planted some that had not been soaked. This is a little test of mine to see if it makes much difference, although I think it will. I know it is sort of early for some things, but everything I read contradicts other things I have read. So we are going to do this trial and error. We also started tomatoes (2 varieties), pickling cucumbers and bell peppers inside. Unfortunately I don’t have the funds or space at the moment to set up anything other than seeds in peat pots near the window. But we will give it a go 🙂

I also received a rainbow butterfly bush that I ordered online. It is a tiny little thing, but apparently really hardy, so I put it in a pot outside until I decide where I want it to go. It was free with everything else I bought, so I haven’t thought too much about it until it was delivered this week.

I am going a little crazy with house plants as well. I just love green things. I recently bought a peperomia golden gate, a sensitive plant and an English ivy. I bought an English ivy last year as well and it died. So we are going to try again. My wonderful boyfriend put up shelve in the house near some windows that let in lot of natural light but no direct light so I can grow my collection. Fortunately he knows that he is enabling my plant craziness and indulges me whenever possible.

This is the butterfly bush in its pot.

This is the butterfly bush in its pot.

We have tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers started. Seeds soaked overnight.

We have tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers started. Seeds soaked overnight.

The butterfly bush just arrived in its packaging. There is a toothpick for size comparison.

The butterfly bush just arrived in its packaging. There is a toothpick for size comparison.

So green and pretty. Hope I don't kill it.

So green and pretty. Hope I don’t kill it.

We still need to clean the garden of dead leaves, but this is the one we started in this year. There are crate shelving things there to keep cats out. So far in this bed is peas, lettuce, carrots and spinach.

We still need to clean the garden of dead leaves, but this is the one we started in this year. There are crate shelving things there to keep cats out. So far in this bed is peas, lettuce, carrots and spinach.

One thought on “Planting #1

  1. Jake says:

    Good luck with the garden!

Leave a Reply

